Albuquerque Senior Centers' Hiking Groups (ASCHG)

DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript

Hike Schedule for Second Half of 2018

Show column sorting instructions
Click anywhere in column header to sort that column.
Shift-click to sort on multiple columns.  Refresh page to reset the sort.
Sequence indicators: no sort, ascending sort, descendiing sort.
To change a column's sort sequence, click anywhere in column header.
See notes at end of table for column header abbreviations.
Click for printable version
Show canceled hikes


Day Hike
Date
Group Signups
Begin
Meet
Time
Hike Name Region Hk
Cls
Hk
Mi
Ttl
Up
Rte
Typ
All on
Trl
GPS
Rec'd
Dr
Mi
Dr
Tm
Tue 07/03/18 HSC 06/05/18 8:00 AM Alameda Open Space North
The Sandias are unfortunately closed. This hike will keep us a bit cooler.
Albuquerque A 3.9 15 CCW Loop Yes No 20 0:20
Fri 07/06/18 NDBMC 06/22/18 8:00 AM Bandelier Cliff Dwellings - Tsankawi¹
Multiple hikes - Tsankawi and Cliff Dwellings. Incomplete hike description.
Los Alamos B 5.5 350 Multiple Hikes Yes No 200 2:15
Sat 07/07/18 PDSCS 06/23/18 8:45 AM Pueblo Lateral South to Los Ranchos Albuquerque A 4.1 20 InOut Yes No 26 0:25
Tue 07/10/18 PDSCT 06/12/18 8:00 AM Battleship Rock to McCauley Hot Springs Jemez Mountains C 4.0 930 InOut Yes No 130 1:30
Sat 07/14/18 PDSCS 06/30/18 8:00 AM Ellis - 10K Loop Sandia Mountain East C 4.9 850 CW Loop Yes No 60 1:00
Mon 07/16/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Ravens Ridge to Deception Peak
Hiker limit 15.
Sangre De Cristos E 5.9 2300 CW Loop Yes Yes 150 1:45
Tue 07/17/18 HSC 06/19/18 8:00 AM No Hike, Center Closed Albuquerque A Multiple Hikes No No
Wed 07/18/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Sandia Crest - Rocky Point Loop
This will be a half day hike - return by 1:00
Sandia Mountain East B 4.3 514 Loop Yes No 60 1:00
Thu 07/19/18 BCSC 06/21/18 8:00 AM Crest Trail - Survey Trail Loop
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 5.7 1015 Loop Yes No 60 1:00
Fri 07/20/18 NDBMC 07/06/18 8:00 AM San Gregorio Reservoir Long
Hiker limit 15.
San Pedro Parks C 7.1 806 InOut Yes No 190 2:00
Sat 07/21/18 PDSCS 07/07/18 8:45 AM Seven Springs Jemez Mountains B 5.7 302 InOut Yes No 165 1:45
Mon 07/23/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM San Antonio Hot Spring - South Route Jemez Mountains C 8.9 895 InOut Yes Yes 150 1:30
Tue 07/24/18 PDSCT 06/26/18 8:00 AM Barley Ridge to Fenton Lake Overlook Jemez Mountains B 6.6 400 InOut No Yes 156 1:40
Wed 07/25/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Milne - Gutierrez East Open Space¹
This will be a half day hike - return by 1:00 Incomplete hike description.
Cedro Peak B 5.0 No No
Thu 07/26/18 NVSC 06/28/18 8:00 AM Bear Wallow - Borrego Loop Sangre De Cristos C 3.9 860 CW Loop Yes No 140 1:30
Fri 07/27/18 LVSC 07/13/18 8:45 AM Bear Wallow - Borrego Loop Sangre De Cristos C 3.9 860 CW Loop Yes No 140 1:30
Sat 07/28/18 PDSCS 07/14/18 8:45 AM La Luz Spur - Kiwanis Cabin Loop Sandia Mountain East C 4.3 805 Loop Yes Yes 70 1:15
Mon 07/30/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Cienega Trail - Crest - Pino Trail
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East E 6.4 1660 Crossover Yes Yes 30 0:30
Tue 07/31/18 HSC 07/03/18 8:00 AM Ravens Ridge to Deception Peak
Hiker limit 15.
Sangre De Cristos E 5.9 2300 CW Loop Yes Yes 150 1:45
Wed 08/01/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Aspen Vista to Big Tesuque Campground¹
This hike will be done as a 'B; level hike - downhill to Big Tesuque Campground Incomplete hike description.
Santa Fe B 4.0 Oneway Yes No 160 1:30
Thu 08/02/18 BCSC 07/05/18 8:00 AM 10K North to Barite Mine
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 6.7 1765 InOut Yes Yes 60 1:00
Fri 08/03/18 NDBMC 07/20/18 8:00 AM Sandia Crest House To Tram Sandia Mountain East B 3.2 424 InOut Yes No 70 1:15
Sat 08/04/18 PDSCS 07/21/18 8:45 AM Sandia Crest - Rocky Point Loop Sandia Mountain East B 4.3 514 Loop Yes No 60 1:00
Mon 08/06/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Rio en Medio West
Bring water shoes and hiking poles are helpful
Sangre De Cristos C 5.4 1130 InOut No Yes 160 1:30
Tue 08/07/18 PDSCT 07/10/18 8:00 AM Las Conchas Short Jemez Mountains A 3.1 240 InOut Yes No 160 2:00
Wed 08/08/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM East Fork Box Wade Jemez Mountains B 4.7 502 Loop No Yes 140 1:45
Thu 08/09/18 NVSC 07/12/18 8:00 AM Challenge-Capulin-Balsam Glade Loop Sandia Mountain East C 5.1 988 Messy Yes Yes 56 0:45
Sat 08/11/18 PDSCS 07/28/18 8:45 AM North Mystery Trail Sandia Mountain East C 5.8 809 Oneway Yes Yes 60 1:00
Mon 08/13/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Oat - Hay Canyons To Bottom Long Jemez Mountains C 6.5 970 CCW Loop No Yes 160 1:50
Tue 08/14/18 HSC 07/17/18 8:00 AM Sandia Crest To Del Agua
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 4.5 980 InOut Yes No 70 1:15
Wed 08/15/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM La Luz Spur - Kiwanis Cabin Loop Sandia Mountain East C 4.3 805 Loop Yes Yes 70 1:15
Thu 08/16/18 BCSC 07/19/18 8:00 AM Tree Spring - Crest - Cienega
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 6.0 1228 Oneway Yes No 50 0:45
Sat 08/18/18 PDSCS 08/04/18 8:45 AM Oat - Hay Canyons To Bottom Short
Watch for updates regarding weather notices. Trekking poles are highly recommended for this hike
Jemez Mountains C 5.3 895 CCW Loop No Yes 160 1:50
Mon 08/20/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Ellis-Survey Loop
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 4.9 735 CCW Loop Yes No 60 1:00
Tue 08/21/18 PDSCT 07/24/18 8:00 AM Cave Creek
Hiker limit 15.
Pecos C 5.2 720 InOut Yes No 200 2:00
Wed 08/22/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Ellis Trailhead Wonder¹
Incomplete hike description.
Sandia Mountain East B 5.0 Multiple Hikes No No 60 1:00
Fri 08/24/18 LVSC 08/10/18 8:45 AM Tree Spring - Oso Corredor - Bill Springs Sandia Mountain East B 4.0 265 Oneway Yes No 50 0:45
Sat 08/25/18 PDSCS 08/11/18 8:45 AM Pueblo Lateral South to Los Ranchos Albuquerque A 4.1 20 InOut Yes No 26 0:25
Mon 08/27/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Beatty's Trail #25 to Mesa View
Hiker limit 15.
Pecos C 6.0 1400 InOut Yes No 200 2:00
Tue 08/28/18 HSC 07/31/18 8:00 AM El Porvenir
lunch in Vegas
Las Vegas B 5.1 345 InOut Yes Yes 282 2:30
Wed 08/29/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Seven Springs Jemez Mountains B 5.7 302 InOut Yes No 165 1:45
Thu 08/30/18 BCSC 08/02/18 8:00 AM Tree Spring-Crest-Ski Basin-10K-Tree Spring¹
Incomplete hike description.
Albuquerque D 7.5 2200 Lollypop Yes No 110
Fri 08/31/18 NDBMC 08/17/18 8:00 AM Rio en Medio West Sangre De Cristos C 5.4 1130 InOut No Yes 160 1:30
Tue 09/04/18 PDSCT 08/07/18 8:00 AM Sandia Crest Trail North
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 6.1 1010 InOut Yes No 70 1:15
Wed 09/05/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Tree Spring - Oso Corredor - Bill Springs Sandia Mountain East B 4.0 265 Oneway Yes No 50 0:45
Thu 09/06/18 NVSC 08/09/18 8:00 AM Chamisoso Canyon Cedro Peak B 5.5 727 InOut Yes No 40 0:45
Fri 09/07/18 LVSC 08/24/18 8:45 AM 10K South - Crest Sandia Mountain East C 5.2 950 CW Loop Yes Yes 60 1:00
Sat 09/08/18 PDSCS 08/25/18 7:45 AM Strawberry Canyon to McGaffey Lookout
Early departure: Meet at 7:45 am; leave 8:00 am
Northwest New Mexico B 4.4 450 CCW Loop Yes Yes 285 2:30
Mon 09/10/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Valles Caldera - Coyote Call to Rabbit Ridge Jemez Mountains C 6.4 1320 Messy Yes Yes 172 2:00
Tue 09/11/18 HSC 08/14/18 8:00 AM Lorenzo Canyon to Cole Spring Sandia Mountain East C 4.9 1160 InOut Yes No 27 0:25
Wed 09/12/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Valle De Oro National Wildlife Refuge Short¹
Incomplete hike description.
Albuquerque B 4.0 20 Figure8 Yes No 25 0:25
Thu 09/13/18 BCSC 08/16/18 8:00 AM South Peak via CCC & Crest Tr.¹
10 person limit Incomplete hike description.
Sandia Mountain South E 11.5 Yes Yes 40 0:35
Fri 09/14/18 NDBMC 08/31/18 8:00 AM Stable Mesa to Ruins
Shorten hike to 6.0 miles by going straight to the Ruins and back.
Jemez Mountains C 8.2 1049 InOut No Yes 120 1:45
Sat 09/15/18 PDSCS 09/01/18 6:45 AM Winsor Trail to Spirit Lake from Ski Area
Early departure: Meet at 6:45 am; leave 7:00 am
Pecos E 11.9 2360 InOut Yes No 160 1:45
Mon 09/17/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Guadalupe Mesa
Please read cautions and comments in hike description! Bring water shoes for river crossings.
Jemez Mountains C 3.9 1138 Loop No Yes 100 1:00
Tue 09/18/18 PDSCT 08/21/18 8:00 AM Atalaya Mountain Santa Fe D 6.9 2040 InOut Yes Yes 120 1:10
Wed 09/19/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Bernalillito Hoodoos In-Out Ojito B 3.9 262 InOut Yes No 100 1:15
Fri 09/21/18 LVSC 09/07/18 8:00 AM Armijo Canyon - Faulty - Sulphur Canyon Loop
Note change from the usual meet/leave times. Van will depart at 8:15.
Sandia Mountain East C 5.4 894 CW Loop Yes Yes 50 0:45
Sat 09/22/18 PDSCS 09/08/18 7:45 AM Hamilton Mesa Pecos C 5.7 1070 InOut Yes No 210 2:30
Mon 09/24/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Dale Ball Trails - Randall Davey Audubon Center Round Trip Santa Fe B 4.5 680 Loop Yes No 65 1:20
Tue 09/25/18 HSC 08/28/18 8:00 AM Lower San Antonio to Cave Jemez Mountains C 6.4 852 Lollypop Yes Yes 110 1:20
Wed 09/26/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Glorieta Canyon Sangre De Cristos C 7.4 1030 InOut Yes No 160 1:30
Thu 09/27/18 BCSC 08/30/18 8:00 AM 4th Of July - Crest - Albuquerque Trail Loop Long Manzano Mountains East D 8.3 1684 CW Loop Yes Yes 100 1:30
Fri 09/28/18 NDBMC 09/14/18 8:00 AM Calaveras Canyon - Big Side Canyon Jemez Mountains B 6.5 500 InOut No Yes 168 2:00
Sat 09/29/18 PDSCS 09/15/18 7:45 AM Mora Flats Pecos C 7.2 1140 InOut Yes No 200 2:30
Mon 10/01/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Winsor Ridge - Stewart Lake - Winsor Creek
We will be doing the long version of this hike to Stewart Lake: out & back on Winsor Ridge Trail
Pecos D 9.9 2260 CCW Loop Yes No 200 2:00
Tue 10/02/18 PDSCT 09/04/18 8:00 AM Lybrook Badlands West From South
Margaritas at Brunos. Expect late return.
Cuba C 6.6 240 Messy No Yes 230 2:25
Wed 10/03/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Jemez FR 376 Aspen Area Jemez Mountains B 4.2 403 InOut No Yes 140 1:45
Thu 10/04/18 NVSC 09/06/18 8:00 AM Arroyo Piedra Lumbre East Cabezon B 4.3 420 CW Loop No Yes 150 1:30
Sat 10/06/18 PDSCS 09/22/18 8:45 AM White Mesa - East Loop
Modified version of hike: We will enter the loop from a new hike area, Colored Bluffs.
Ojito C 5.1 713 Loop No Yes 100 1:00
Mon 10/08/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Monte Largo Canyon
Hiker Limit 12
Manzano Mountains West B 3.7 670 InOut No Yes 120 1:30
Tue 10/09/18 HSC 09/11/18 8:00 AM Las Conchas Short Jemez Mountains A 3.1 240 InOut Yes No 160 2:00
Wed 10/10/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Chamisoso Canyon Cedro Peak B 5.5 727 InOut Yes No 40 0:45
Thu 10/11/18 BCSC 09/13/18 8:00 AM Piedra Lisa South
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain West C 3.9 1239 InOut Yes No 30 0:25
Fri 10/12/18 NDBMC 09/28/18 8:00 AM Penasco Springs San Ysidro B 5.4 680 CW Loop No Yes 100 1:00
Tue 10/16/18 PDSCT 09/18/18 8:00 AM Tree Spring-Crest-Ski Basin-10K-Tree Spring¹
Incomplete hike description.
Albuquerque D 7.5 2200 Lollypop Yes No 110
Wed 10/17/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Sandia Crest House To Tram Sandia Mountain East B 3.2 424 InOut Yes No 70 1:15
Thu 10/18/18 NVSC 09/20/18 8:00 AM Continental Divide South Cabezon B 5.8 706 InOut Yes No 140 1:30
Fri 10/19/18 LVSC 10/05/18 8:45 AM Domingo Baca To Waterfall
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain West C 5.8 1239 InOut Yes No 12 0:15
Sat 10/20/18 PDSCS 10/06/18 7:45 AM De-na-zin
Early departure: Meet at 7:45 am; leave 8:00 am. One van.
Northwest New Mexico C 4.5 520 Loop No Yes 300 2:45
Mon 10/22/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Sandia Crest To Del Agua
Hiker limit 10.
Sandia Mountain East C 4.5 980 InOut Yes No 70 1:15
Tue 10/23/18 HSC 09/25/18 8:00 AM Rail Trail/Arroyo de los Chamisos¹
Meet at train, Lunch at Midtown Bistro Incomplete hike description.
Santa Fe C 6.1 260 Messy Yes No 1:15
Wed 10/24/18 LV-FIT Any 8:00 AM Albuquerque Trail Bypass - 4th Of July Loop Manzano Mountains East B 3.0 450 CCW Loop Yes Yes 100 1:30
Thu 10/25/18 BCSC 09/27/18 8:00 AM Red Mesa East Loop San Ysidro D 6.5 1481 CW Loop No Yes 80 0:50
Fri 10/26/18 NDBMC 10/12/18 8:00 AM Bosque Peak Manzano Mountains East D 4.8 1501 InOut Yes Yes 120 1:30
Sat 10/27/18 PDSCS 10/13/18 8:45 AM El Malpais Narrows El Malpais C 7.7 585 InOut Yes No 140 2:00
Mon 10/29/18 PD-FITH Any 7:00 AM Bandelier Cliff Dwellings - Tsankawi¹
Incomplete hike description.
Los Alamos B 5.5 350 Multiple Hikes Yes No 200 2:15
Tue 10/30/18 PDSCT 10/02/18 8:00 AM Golden Open Space - Bike Trails & Arroyos Golden C 6.5 560 Messy No Yes 70 1:15
Wed 10/31/18 NDB-FIT Any 8:00 AM Diablo Canyon Santa Fe B 6.3 620 InOut No No 150 1:20
Thu 11/01/18 NVSC 10/04/18 8:00 AM Goblin Rocks Loop Jemez Mountains B 3.8 595 CW Loop No Yes 110 1:15
Fri 11/02/18 LVSC 10/19/18 8:00 AM El Malpais Narrows Short - Lava Falls Loop El Malpais B 5.0 290 Multiple Hikes No Yes 140 2:00
Sat 11/03/18 PDSCS 10/20/18 8:45 AM La Luz to Crest Sandia Mountain West E 7.0 4830 Oneway Yes No 20 0:25
Tue 11/06/18 HSC 10/09/18 8:00 AM Lybrook Badlands West From South Cuba C 6.6 240 Messy No Yes 230 2:25
Thu 11/08/18 BCSC 10/11/18 8:00 AM White Mesa - East Loop Ojito C 5.1 713 Loop No Yes 100 1:00
Fri 11/09/18 NDBMC 10/26/18 8:00 AM Monte Largo Canyon Manzano Mountains West B 3.7 670 InOut No Yes 120 1:30
Sat 11/10/18 PDSCS 10/27/18 8:45 AM Tent Rocks Jemez Mountains C 3.4 900 Loop Yes No 105 1:00
Thu 11/15/18 NVSC 10/18/18 8:00 AM Red Rocks Crossover Northwest New Mexico C 5.6 950 CW Loop No Yes 280 2:00
Fri 11/16/18 LVSC 11/02/18 8:00 AM Red Mesa East Loop San Ysidro D 6.5 1481 CW Loop No Yes 80 0:50
Sat 11/17/18 PDSCS 11/03/18 8:45 AM Galisteo Basin - Nathan - Derek Loop Santa Fe B 5.3 435 CW Loop Yes No 150 1:30
Tue 11/20/18 HSC 10/23/18 8:00 AM Deer Creek to Cabin Ruins Jemez Mountains B 3.6 715 InOut No Yes 110 1:25
Thu 11/22/18 BCSC 10/25/18 8:00 AM No Hike, Center Closed
Thanksgiving Day
Albuquerque A Multiple Hikes No No
Sat 11/24/18 PDSCS 11/10/18 8:45 AM No Hike Scheduled
Thanksgiving weekend
Albuquerque A InOut No No
Tue 11/27/18 PDSCT 10/30/18 8:00 AM Ojito Hoodoo Loop Ojito A 4.1 194 Loop No Yes 100 1:20
Thu 11/29/18 NVSC 11/01/18 8:00 AM Alameda Open Space North Albuquerque A 3.9 15 CCW Loop Yes No 20 0:20
Sat 12/01/18 PDSCS 11/17/18 8:45 AM Arroyo del Tajo Upper Socorro C 5.9 510 InOut No Yes 180 1:45
Tue 12/04/18 HSC 11/06/18 8:00 AM Dale Ball Trails - Randall Davey Audubon Center Round Trip Santa Fe B 4.5 680 Loop Yes No 65 1:20
Thu 12/06/18 BCSC 11/08/18 8:00 AM David Canyon Loop Cedro Peak C 6.9 783 Loop Yes No 60 0:45
Sat 12/08/18 PDSCS 11/24/18 8:45 AM Bosque del Apache Tour Loop Trails Socorro B 5.5 200 Loop Yes No 200 2:30
Tue 12/11/18 PDSCT 11/13/18 8:00 AM Piedras Marcadas Canyon Albuquerque A 3.8 270 Figure8 Yes No 30 0:30
Thu 12/13/18 NVSC 11/15/18 8:00 AM Belen Bosque South Los Lunas A 3.9 10 InOut Yes No 84 0:50
Fri 12/14/18 LVSC 11/30/18 8:45 AM Nambe Badlands Los Alamos B 5.7 600 Figure8 No Yes 160 1:40
Sat 12/15/18 PDSCS 12/01/18 8:45 AM La Tierra Trails North Loop Santa Fe B 4.7 500 CW Loop Yes No 120 0:55
Tue 12/18/18 HSC 11/20/18 8:00 AM Piedra Lisa North - Del Agua Loop
Hiker limit 10.
Placitas C 5.1 1413 CW Loop No Yes 50 0:45
Thu 12/20/18 BCSC 11/22/18 8:00 AM Piedras Marcadas¹
Incomplete hike description.
Albuquerque C 7.5 Oneway Yes No 30 0:20
Fri 12/21/18 NDBMC 12/07/18 8:00 AM Pueblo Lateral South to Los Ranchos Albuquerque A 4.1 20 InOut Yes No 26 0:25
Sat 12/22/18 PDSCS 12/08/18 8:45 AM No Hike Scheduled
Holiday weekend
Albuquerque A InOut No No
Tue 12/25/18 PDSCT 11/27/18 8:00 AM No Hike, Center Closed
Christmas Day
Albuquerque A Multiple Hikes No No
Thu 12/27/18 NVSC 11/29/18 8:00 AM Corrales Lateral Loop Corrales C 8.0 29 CW Loop Yes No 20 0:30
Fri 12/28/18 LVSC 12/14/18 8:45 AM Pueblo Lateral South to Los Ranchos
Includes lunch at El Bruno's on 4th St.
Albuquerque A 4.1 20 InOut Yes No 26 0:25
Sat 12/29/18 PDSCS 12/15/18 8:45 AM No Hike Scheduled
Holiday weekend
Albuquerque A InOut No No
Notes: ¹ A ¹ after a hike name means an incomplete hike description (little or no hike data is available)
Signups Start The first date that you can sign up for the hike.
Hk Cls Hike class.  From A (easy), B (moderate), C (challenging), D (difficult) to E (demanding)
Hk Mi Hike miles, round trip
Ttl Up Total uphill in feet.  Lowest point to highest point
Dr Mi Drive miles, round trip
Dr Tm Drive time, one way
All on Trl "Yes" when all parts of the hike are on constructed, maintained trails intended for hiking/biking, not on lava rock, and without stream crossings.
GPS Rec'd "Yes" when a GPS is recommended to locate the trailhead and/or to conduct the hike as described.

There are 120 entries in the table.